5 Things You Learn When You Decide To Get Sober Early In Your Life

Thought Catalog

Just over six months ago, I did something I’d previously considered unthinkable: at the ripe old age of 22, I stopped drinking, and it’s been most instructive. Some aspects of recovery are uniform across age groups – a sense of social isolation, for example, or the shakes (oh god, the shakes). But young people, gin-soaked as their social dynamics tend to be, face a particular set of challenges and new experiences when they try to give up alcohol. Below is a list (by no means exhaustive) of some of the things I’ve learned since I put a plug in the jug.

1. You will keep expecting there to be an end in sight – and there isn’t.

We don’t often think about it, but up until age 22 or so, our lives are planned out in bite-size chunks with clear goals. When you’re born, your main objective is to meet…

View original post 1,044 more words

About Setoshino

I'm not as clever as I think I am.
This entry was posted in The Game Of Life, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

